View-only Folders and Files in Dropbox

 

Over 300 million people and 4 million businesses use Dropbox to work smarter.

Dropbox for Business now includes the ability to have view-only Folders and Files. These new features are "opt-in" from your Administrator Control Panel.

The Dropbox for Business administrator must opt-in to gain early access to the new sharing controls. 

The Dropbox for Business administrator must opt-in to gain early access to the new sharing controls. 

This has been a popular request from clients. These new, more granular controls provide Dropbox users much more flexibility. Specifically, early access participants will have a new view-only permission in shared folders that will prevent users from adding, editing, or deleting files in a shared folder. This permission can be applied to shared folder members through roles.

Overview of roles

There are three roles in a shared folder. These roles are determined by the owner of the folder or editors in the folder, if the owner allows it.

1. Viewer

Viewers have the most limited role. They can only:

  • View folder contents
  • View the members of the shared folder and their roles
  • Leave the folder
  • Email members

A viewer will be able to tell that they have view-only permissions because of the lock icon on the shared folder. This will appear on the web, mobile app, and desktop application.

2. Editor

By default, members added to a shared folder are editors. Editors can:

  • View folder contents
  • View the members of the shared folder and their roles
  • Leave the folder
  • Email members

Plus:

  • Edit folder contents
  • Invite and remove members
  • Change roles of other members
  • Cancel invites and reinvite members

3. Owner

The owner is the team member who creates a shared folder. Owners can:

  • View folder contents
  • View the members of the shared folder and their roles
  • Leave the folder
  • Email members
  • Edit folder contents
  • Invite and remove members
  • Change roles of other members
  • Cancel invites and reinvite members

Plus:

A look at the new 'can view' sharing options. 

A look at the new 'can view' sharing options. 

If you'd like help enabling this feature or have questions about the differences between Dropbox and Dropbox for Business contact your Umzuzu rep or email the team at Support@Umzuzu.com